You must obtain and maintain your CDL in your state of residence. This is normally the state where your regular driver\'s license was issued. If you plan on moving soon, you may want to choose your new state of residence.
North Carolina CDL Requirements | DMV Locations Fees | Forms | FAQs | FREE CDL INFO
Find official North Carolina CDL test requirements to get your NC CDL - FREE information - FAST and EFFICIENT.
North Carolina CDL Info | North Carolina CDL Requirements
- North Carolina Commercial Class A - Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating, GVWR, of 26,001 pounds or more, provided the GVWR of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
- North Carolina Commercial Class B - Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more, and any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a GVWR not in excess of 10,000 pounds.
- North Carolina Commercial Class C - Any vehicle not described in Class A or B above but is: Designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver; or used in the transportation of hazardous materials that require the vehicle to be placarded under C.F.R., Part 172, Subpart F.
- Valid for six months
- Limit of two permits in two years
- Permit thirty days over their expiration date, the driver is required to retake all written tests
To avoid inconveniences, make sure you have all necessary documents before visiting the Driver License Office. In order to apply for the first time issuance of a NC CDL you will need to gather documents from the following categories:
- Proof of Age & Identity
- Proof of Social Security
- Proof of Residency
- Proof of Liability Insurance
At time of application, you must certify that;
- Your license is not suspended, disqualified or revoked
- You currently do not hold more than one Driver License
- You must be at least 18 years of age (21 for operations that require a medical card)
- You must possess a valid Classified A, B, or C Driver License
- Will be accompanied by a licensed CDL operator, with the proper class of license, in the front seat beside you.
- Application Fee - $30.00
- CDL Endorsement - $3/yr. per endorsement
- Class A License, CDL - $15.00/yr.
- Class B License, CDL - $15.00/yr.
- Class C License, CDL - $15.00/yr.
- Duplicate License - $10.00
- Learner Permit, CDL - $15.00
- No one can drive a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL.
- No one can have more than one license. If you break this rule, you can be fined for up to $5000 or put in jail.
- Notify your employer and the motor vehicle licensing agency in the state issuing your CDL within 30 days of conviction for any moving traffic violations.
- Notify your employer if your license is suspended, revoked, or canceled, or if you are disqualified from driving.
- Give your employer information on all driving jobs you have held for the past 10 years. You must do this when you apply for a commercial driving job.
- It is illegal to operate a CMV if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is .04% or more. You will lose your CDL for one year for your first offense. You will lose it for life for your second offense. If your blood alcohol concentration is less than 0.04% but you have any detectable amount, you will be put out-of-service for 24 hours.
- Fines for violations of the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) Out-of-State criteria must be paid when the citation is written.
- It is a violation of State law to possess any alcoholic beverage (open or closed) while operating a commercial motor vehicle.
- There is a minimum fine of $250 for speeding in highway work zones in addition to any fines or penalties that may be imposed for speeding violations.
- There are now minimum limits of insurance requirements for commercial motor vehicles licensed in North Carolina, whether interstate or intrastate, private or "For Hire" in the amount of $750,000.
- The court system can double any fine for operators of commercial motor vehicles that violate motor vehicle laws in which points are assessed.
- There will be an increase in the number of points assessed to your driving record for motor vehicle law violations including railroad crossing violations and possession of an alcoholic beverage while operating a CMV.
You will need to pass the North Carolina Knowledge Tests that are required for the class of license, restriction, and endorsements you wish to possess. A general knowledge test for the Class A or Class B and C license must be successfully completed by all CDL applicants. The information needed to pass these tests is contained in the FREE North Carolina CDL Handbook. Please read and study this manual carefully.
- Class A - 70 Questions (50 GK + 20 Combination Vehicles) - Skills test required.
- Class B - 50 Questions - Skills test required.
- Class C - 50 Questions - Skills test required for bus, school bus and air brakes vehicles..
- Passenger Endorsement - 20 questions - Skills test required in bus.
- School Bus Endorsement - 25 questions - Skills test required in school bus.
- Doubles/Triples Endorsement - 20 questions - No additional skills tests.
- Tank Vehicle Endorsement - 20 questions - No additional skills tests.
- Hazardous Materials Endorsement - 30 questions - No additional skills tests.
- Air Brake Restriction Removal - 25 questions - Additional skills test in vehicle with Air Brakes.
Quickly access the most complete and accurate Official North Carolina CDL Information
by the State of North Carolina
- North Carolina CDL - MAIN Index Page
- North Carolina CDL Rules
- North Carolina CDL - School Bus Handbook
- North Carolina CDL - Hazardous Materials Endorsement - FAQs
- North Carolina CDL - Hazardous Materials Endorsement - Info
- North Carolina CDL - Medical Certification Requirements - General Info
- North Carolina CDL - Medical Certification - FAQs
- North Carolina CDL - Medical Self-Certification Form
- Contact a North Carolina License Offices
- North Carolina CDL - Military CDL Skills Waiver Program
- North Carolina CDL - Military CDL Skills Waiver Certification Form
Access Official Federal CDL General Information
Access Official Federal CDL Medical Requirements Info
Access Official Federal CDL Hazardous Materials Info
|CDL Class||Tests Required||Possible Endorsements and Required Tests|
vehicle endorsement required)
General Knowledge Written Exam
Combination Endorsement Written Exam
General Knowledge Written Exam
General Knowledge Written Exam
Road ExamNote: If upgrading to a Class C from a Class D, no road test is required UNLESS the endorsement requires one.
|Exam||Time Allowed (Minutes)||# of Questions on Exam||# of Correct Answers Needed to Pass|